Desktop Schools Popup

Select a School

Student Conference

Student Planned. Student Led. Student Voice.

What does the public education system look like to you in the next five years? What about in the next 10 years? How can all of us in District 196 work together to build a school system in which all students have equal access, opportunity and equity in their education? Join us for the inaugural District 196 Student Conference Open Spark Technology Competition and engage in the conversation!

Building on the momentum of the Reimagine Minnesota's "The Student Conference," this conference is also student planned and student led. We want to hear your voice. If it’s about you, it must include you!The planning of our student conference is ongoing, but students will explore and will respond to the following challenges: curriculum; school climate and culture; college and career opportunities; technology; health and wellness; leadership, teachers and staff; athletics and the arts, and more! 

Learn More at our upcoming meeting

An informational meeting for District 196 students and staff was held March 17. Rewatch the informational meeting >

Open Spark Technology Competition

Your input is vital to the success of our student conference, and we need you to help us plan it! To do this, we are challenging students to think critically about the future of education and share their ideas by participating in the Open Spark Technology Competition! This competition is designed and facilitated by high school students in District 196, and will a highlight event during the upcoming conference.

Save the Date: April 21, 2021

The Student Conference will be held Wednesday, April 21. Registration is required. A select number of groups will be chosen to present their final Open Spark Technology projects to their peers at the conference. Stay tuned for more information about specific conference details, location and more! Be sure to check this page for regular updates.
 

REGISTER TODAY

Questions?

Contact your school for additional support or questions for resources needed to help you with your project. All other questions, contact Carita Green at Carita.Green@district196.org

Dave Schmitz, Area Learning Center
Dave.Schmitz@district196.org

Jodi Hanson, Eastview High School
Jodi.Hanson@district196.org

Veronica Ramos, Cultural Family Advocate
Veronica.Ramos@district196.org

Paul Tinder, Apple Valley High School
Paul.Tinder@district196.org

Alix Grande, Apple Valley High School
Alix.Grande@district196.org

Calvin Keasling, Rosemount High School
Calvin.Keasling@district196.org

Will Finley, Rosemount High School
Will.Finley@district196.org

Stacy Jameson, Eagan High School
Stacy.Jameson@district196.org

Susan Olsen, Eagan High School
Susan.Olsen@district196.org

Lauren Trainer, School of Environmental Studies
Lauren.Trainer@district196.org

All five high school logos
Abstract art of faces in difference hues of blue and green